Some of our favorite success stories

BarMax has helped thousands of students from all over the world and all walks of life pass the bar exam.

Susan Brown
Susan Brown
University of Toronto
quote The cost savings are great, but in my opinion, the real advantage is that the BarMax course itself is simply better than the competition.
Leslie Lee Gildea
Leslie Lee Gildea
George Washington
quote The way the MBE practice questions are laid out ensures that you understand why you got certain questions wrong and forces you to go back and tackle your weak areas.
David Glasgow
David Glasgow
Melbourne
quote I had never studied any American law before and took the course by myself. I found out a couple of weeks ago that I passed the exam!
BarMax Bar Exam, MBE & MPRE Review

The highest-rated bar review in the App Store.

BarMax Bar Exam, MBE & MPRE Review
4.5 out of 5 based on 391 user ratings.
4.5 Stars

Simply the best

5 Stars Leilawno

Great app, easy to use, and fair price. I consider this app the reason I passed the July 2015 CA bar.

BarMax was a life saver.

5 Stars Timothyf31

Not only did I pass the bar, but I scored in the top 10 percent. I genuinely give BarMax a lot of credit for making ths possible. I’d highly recommend it to anyone.

Great Substantive Bar Review

5 Stars Bad.hair.spray

Materials are clearly top notch and very user friendly. Obviously the value of not having to carry around physical books goes without saying.

Lindsey Goff

Lindsey Goff

Creighton University School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I wanted to let you know that I passed the July 2017 UBE. I was working over 40 hours a week during prep (other then the week I took off right before the exam). I was very happy with the course. My score was high enough to transfer to any UBE state in the country. This is my second bar exam. I passed my first one using Barbri, so I am very familiar with other courses. I decided to use BarMax after my family moved to a new state. BarMax was better then BarBri in my opinion, and for a third of the price.

The BarMax prep course was great. I found it to be very convenient with the BarMax app. I studied with an iPad mini on my way to work each day on the train during my commute. It was convenient because Wi-Fi was not necessary, and I didn't need to pack around any heavy books. I also found the model answers very helpful in preparation for the essay portion. Thanks so much for what you are doing!

NZ

NZ

Santa Clara School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

As pleased passer of the July 2017 California Bar Exam, I cannot endorse BarMax enough for offering user-friendly, focused, and streamlined course materials that emphasize the actual knowledge you'll need to succeed on the exam. Having all of the materials easily accessible online and on mobile devices made studying convenient and far less burdensome than lugging books around. Plus, the MBE questions were challenging and extremely similar to the real ones on the exam.

Susan Greeson

Susan Greeson

Campbell University School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I failed the NC Bar Exam in July of 2001 by 2 points. As it turned out, I already had a banking job within a Trust Department, so I didn’t need my license. For the last fifteen years, I have worked within banks of all sizes in Trusts, Estates and Wealth Management fields. After much consideration, I decided I wanted to go back and take the Bar Exam to start my own practice. Yes, this was quite a mid-life crisis job change! I researched all Bar Prep courses, and I found BarMax. While they did not have a specific NC course, I was concerned about the Multistate, so I ordered the program. I could not have been happier. The lecture/outline content is what you need to pass the Bar Exam-period, and the practice questions are absolutely right off the test. You can do practice questions on your phone or iPad at any time, and the whole system is user-friendly. Fifteen years after graduating from law school, I passed the Bar Exam and started my own practice. Thank you, Mehran and BarMax!

Jin Hee Park

Jin Hee Park

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I used BarMax MBE as a supplement to Barbri because I needed to build multiple choice test-taking skills with real questions. I loved using BarMax MBE because of the thorough explanation of the answers. After I passed the California bar and started practicing, I had to take a UBE for work. I was working full-time so I needed a prep course that would be most efficient. I turned to BarMax UBE to prepare for the July 2017 exam because it is the most cost-effective program. Since I was working full-time, I could only put in about 3 hours of studying every day. BarMax lectures cover everything you need to know for the bar exam and the outline is well-organized. BarMax App was very handy in getting access to the lectures anywhere. In three months, I was well prepared for the bar exam and I passed the UBE with flying colors.

Nakisa A

Nakisa A

ASU, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I used BarMax to prepare for the July 2015 UBE. I found that replacing stacks of heavy books with an interactive, digital application was both practical and rewarding. I passed the bar exam on my first attempt and believe I owe a large portion of that success to BarMax, which delivered a succinct, user-friendly product that had the added benefit of being much more affordable than other bar-review options on the market.

John Duane

John Duane

People's College of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I'm writing to express my appreciation for the BaMax program. Having the easy access on my phone, and being able to review MBE's in a convenient way, sometimes just for a few minutes in between other tasks was very helpful. I believe this program was instrumental in helping me prepare to pass the Baby Bar on my first attempt, back in June of 2013.

One of the most valuable pieces were the audio lectures which directly followed the outlines, and which I listened to and reviewed before the doing the MBE exercises. Also the software highlighted the questions that I got wrong and my total score in such an easy way that I was able to make rapid progress improving my scores by quickly tracking areas I was weak in. I highly recommend this program for anyone taking either the baby bar or the Bar exam.

Michael Kantor

Michael Kantor

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I studied law in Canada 25 years ago. I am also very busy with a full time job and 4 young children. So, my limited available time to study, together with my lack of knowledge of US law made me very wary about being able to pass the New York bar exam. When I read that BarMax materials are concise, and teach you just what you need to know to pass, I decided to give BarMax a chance. I recently found out that I passed the UBE and am ecstatic!

I used only the BarMax materials to study. I found reviewing the MBE questions very helpful, with BarMax providing clear explanations regarding how to arrive at the right answer. I also greatly appreciated the concise outline materials for each subject. The fact that I was able to listen to lectures and review questions on my iPad meant I could study anywhere, which was very convenient. I would highly recommend BarMax to others. Thank you BarMax!

Karen Wilson

Karen Wilson

WMU Cooley Law School

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

After several unsuccessful attempts to pass the bar in California using various study aides, including the Kaplan bar prep, I found BarMax to prepare for the February 2017 Arizona bar exam (UBE). And I recently just found out I passed!

The amazing part is that I did this while working full-time! I couldn't have adequately prepared without BarMax. The on-the-go study app for the iPhone/iPad was so convenient. It allows you to study anywhere and at anytime. I would listen to lecture tapes while driving to work and had the ability to squeeze in MBE questions whenever time allotted.

The material is organized by subtopics under each main topic for easy memorization and reference. I also took advantage of personal tutoring with Mehran-he is an amazing tutor and his advice helped tremendously! Tutoring sessions were held right up to the day before the bar and even after the first day of the exam I was still getting advice on how to approach the next day.

I'm very grateful for such an organized straight to the point bar review, offered at a fraction of the cost. And for the graded essays, performance tests and tutoring! I would highly recommend this bar review!

Kelby Derenick

Kelby Derenick

Gonzaga University School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I just wanted to thank you for your lectures and outlines. They must have been pretty good because I passed the Feb CA Bar exam which had a 34.5% pass rate. I only started studying with BarMax 2.5 weeks before the exam and just memorized as much of the outlines and black letter law as I could. It worked!

Heather Pauley DeFalco

Heather Pauley DeFalco

University of Oregon School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

Thank you BarMax. I just passed the California bar exam on my first attempt. I struggled with whether to go with BarBri or BarMax. I ultimately went with BarMax. BarMax gives you everything you need to know in short condensed outlines. The support team is also great at getting back to you quickly with any questions.

Robin Krawchuk

Robin Krawchuk

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at ASU

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I recently passed the February 2017 Arizona Bar Exam (UBE) and it was my first time taking it. I solely used BarMax to prepare for the exam. I scored a 330, and my state requires a 273. I liked the convenience of having the BarMax course on my iPad, as this allowed me to study anywhere I wanted without having to always pull out my laptop. BarMax provides only real released questions for both the essay and multiple choice parts of the exam, and I found this to be extremely beneficial, as I was not surprised by the formatting of any of the questions on test day.

The outlines BarMax provides for each of the test subjects have all of the information you need to know, and they are not overwhelmingly long. I also liked how BarMax provides the NCBE Model Answers to every MEE question, as it really helped me figure out what the graders are looking for in a good answer, and also helped me to memorize the commonly tested issues. BarMax is also much cheaper than every other review course that I have heard of. I would highly recommend BarMax to anyone gearing up to take the bar exam.

N.M.E.

N.M.E.

Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I recently passed the NY Bar (UBE) my first time taking the exam. I needed a 266 and I got a 295. I fully attribute my passing to BarMax. The MBEs are real former MBEs. Completing them ALL will prepare you to score high on the MBE. The essays are real former essays. I also got an iPad Pro & the ability to do everything on my iPad with my Apple Pencil literally is a game changer. I wrote directly on Essay PDFs & took notes via split screen . . . all while working full time. I took my iPad everywhere. I have taken Barbri before for the CA exam, finished 90%, only to be unsuccessful on the exam. I highly recommend BarMax. I've bought Adaptibar before but the interface isn't for me. The ability to answer all multiple choice questions in app with a user friendly clean interface, on my large iPad screen really helped me focus. I listened to lectures via the phone app as I drove to work . . . lectures that really have all you need to know . . . not all the extra stuff other prep programs throw in.

Keila Molina

Keila Molina

Regent University School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I was devastated when I failed to pass the CA bar on my first attempt in July 2012...after all I had spent thousands and used BARBRI (which had practically been presented as a guarantee to bar passage). BARBRI didn't adequately prepare me for the CA bar even though I followed their course to a T and I can safely say that many of their techniques simply don't work.

After searching online, however, I thankfully found out about BarMax. Of course, I followed the app study materials, created my own flashcards, and also customized my study schedule. I studied with BarMax on my iPhone and passed the CA bar exam in February 2013 so their bar prep approach 100% works.

Then I purchased the UBE app to prepare for the AZ bar exam this July 2015, and I just found out last weekend that I passed. Woohoo!

The BarMax bar prep program is awesome. And, since I also had to retake the MPRE for AZ bar requirements, I can add that BarMax MPRE prep is also wonderful as I got a high score even though I only prepared with a short refresher!

Thanks BarMax for creating a bar prep course that is affordable, convenient, and provides the essentials to passing practically any bar exam.

Eleanor Forbes

Eleanor Forbes

Washington University in St. Louis Law School

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I just wanted to let BarMax know that I passed the July 2016 CA Bar after using BarMax as my exclusive study material. I graduated from law school in 2008, passed the MO bar, clerked for a federal judge, then moved to England. I spent the past five years in England working in contract law, and moved back to the U.S. this May with a nine-month-old baby. Preparing for and taking another bar exam seemed like an insurmountable task! I wasn't able to attend any kind of "traditional" bar course because I was taking care of my baby full-time.

With BarMax, I stuck to your schedule (starting two weeks ahead to give me some wiggle-room at the end) by listening to lectures when my child was taking her two one-hour naps during the day, and then working on practice essays and multiple choice when she went to bed at night. The material was really well organized and easy to fit into my schedule - and I felt prepared going into the exam. I just wanted to thank you for offering this alternative - for someone like me, without the luxury of full-time study like I did that first summer after graduating from law school - BarMax was perfect!

Hector Pena Ramirez

Héctor Peña Ramírez

People's College of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

As a 3rd year law student at the People's College of Law, an unaccredited law school, I can now say I'm one year away from taking the California State Bar Examination and becoming a lawyer.

The road was hard, mainly because there exist very few prep courses which focus on the First Year Law Student Examination.

After 2 years of studying and failing the exam—with no end in sight—I found BarMax. BarMax offers a mobile FYLSE prep course which can be accessed via iOS devices. It helped save me time and made it convenient to study on the go.

I can say without pretense that but for my commitment to succeed, the PCL Student Led Mocks and the use of BarMax as a supplement I would not have passed the First Year Law Student Examination.

Allan Bradly

Allan Bradly

Yale Law School

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

BarMax works because it is narrowly focused on passing the test. Rather than inflating its syllabus with a lot of questionable bloat, BarMax focuses on the content most likely to be tested and uses actual test questions as practice. I chose BarMax to save money, but in retrospect it was probably the best choice for me no matter the price.

Ran He

Ran He

Osgoode Hall Law School - Canada

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

Being a Canadian JD, I decided to write both Canadian and US bar exams in the same summer. After finishing my Canadian Bar Exam, I had only five weeks to fully prepare for the New York Bar. BarMax's effective course structure turned this mission-impossible into reality. The audio lectures and the outlines are extremely useful; brief, clear, effective and comprehensive enough to cover almost all the points you can expect on the test days. The real MBE exam questions turned out to be wonderful practice and prediction for the real questions and exam.

The essay grading service is a huge bonus which helped me craft a better way to respond. After five weeks of intensive study with BarMax (and only BarMax), I passed New York bar exam (UBE) with 65 points over the passing score of 266, with over 160 in MBE. I cannot imagine me passing the New York Bar in five weeks with such a high score without the wonderful help from BarMax. Indeed, I feel greatly indebted to BarMax's wonderful lectures, questions and services (no need to mention it only costed me less than $1000). I have recommended BarMax to every friend who plans to take the New York Bar exam and am happy to recommend it to anyone without any reservation.

Premkiran Reddy

Premkiran Reddy

Concord Law School

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

BarMax is so easy to use that I was able to go over it 3 times effortlessly before the FYLSE. I read all the questions and explanations in detail. The style in which the answers were written helped me in training my thought process to start thinking like a lawyer and answer in like manner on the essay portion of the FYLSE. I passed the FYLSE on my first attempt and my score percentage was in the 80s. Their customer support is also excellent and very friendly. I will be using BarMax for the bar exam and law school exams as well, since it worked well for me on the FYLSE.

Akash Kashyap

Akash Kashyap

Brooklyn Law School

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

BarMax is the best bar course available for the UBE - bar none. That it also happens to be the cheapest boggles the mind.

The active nature of the course prevents the student from zoning out, getting distracted, or falling behind a regimented lecture. Anything one doesn't understand is immediately available for endless repetition, along with a plethora of examples and questions. Barring those, the staff is always available to help out - and provides detailed answers on any question that troubles you. Moreover, access to other's questions and comments helps cut down on having to ask the same questions again and again.

The course is easy to use in any setting - letting you prep in the subway, in the classroom, or on the bed. The easy of use and game-like "completion bars" make it addictive and fun - bypassing the usual grumble and stress of ordinary bar prep. And being able to take the course whenever you want, at your own pace, and as many times as needed helps tailor your preparation to your own needs. Personally, I was able to do the course during the breaks in a busy final semester of law school, then again during the summer before the exam.

I attribute my passing the NY Bar as easily as I did entirely to BarMax, and would suggest it over and above any conventional in-class course.

Michael Whitbread

Michael Whitbread

William Mitchell College of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

BarMax is quite simply the reason I passed the New York Bar Exam.

I'm a foreign lawyer, so lacked the benefit of having completed an American JD prior to sitting the exams.

I'd tried Barbri and Kaplan, both of which disappointed and led to unfortunate exam results first time around. Unwieldy materials. Unfocused lecturers. Wrong emphases. None of which positioned the exam candidate as best they could do.

BarMax by contrast did exactly as claimed. They literally provide thousands of past exam MBE questions, one after another, with guidance for correct answers and a timer to foster discipline. Many hundreds of past essays to practice against are provided as well.

I got that email at 3am local time saying I passed my exams and the feeling of elation is hard to describe.

I'm recommending my friends all use BarMax when their time comes to sit the exam. I really can't recommend BarMax enough.

Adam-Spees

Adam Spees

William Mitchell College of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I graduated from law school back in 2009, but never took the bar exam because I entered academia right away. I was honestly petrified at the thought of trying to tackle the bar exam on my own, with no help and no review course, six years after graduation. I work a full-time job now and couldn’t take the time off necessary to take a full BarBri review course.

I downloaded the UBE full version and used it to study for the exam on my own for several weeks. AND I PASSED!! And I didn’t just pass; I passed with plenty of room to spare!

I honestly never could have been successful without the help of BarMax and its amazing app. The lectures, the multiple choice questions, the exam questions, the feedback; everything helped so much. You guys and gals are absolutely amazing. You provide a product that fills a critical gap in the bar prep world.

Thank you for everything you’ve done and, in particular, for providing the support I needed to successfully pass the Minnesota state bar exam. I will never forget how important this app has been in my life, and I will speak its praises to anyone who ever has questions about bar prep.

Robert Skeels

Robert Skeels

People's College of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

When I graduated UCLA in 2014, my eyes were set on graduate school. However, many social justice activist colleagues felt I would be a far more effective advocate as an attorney. I decided to attend law school, despite having no background in, or proclivity towards law.

Students at unaccredited schools have the difficult burden of passing the FYLSX. I used BarMax on my iPhone extensively as part of my study regime for the June 2015 administration. I was very fortunate to pass on my first attempt with a 639 scaled. Knowing my 84% MBE score was in large part due to BarMax, I turned to BarMax again for my August 2016 MPRE preparation. Another success — a 124 scaled on the first attempt.

Given those successes, I didn't hesitate to purchase BarMax's full California Bar Review. I sit for the CBX in July 2018, and I know that practicing with real MBE questions is key.

Nigel Phillips

Nigel Phillips

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

Picking a bar exam prep course was stressful enough… without taking into account the fact I don't have a JD or I hadn't been in any form of legal education or work in over 5 years. I didn't know where to start, I read reviews and articles and asked friends. In the end, after a grueling process of examining every option, I decided on BarMax. Primarily due to the price, the fully online format, the lifetime access to the app!!

Like any state bar examinee I was still worried about the width and depth of my study and this was magnified by the fact that I had no background in US law at all. Never fear, I made the right choice and I am eternally grateful for Barmax and the decision I made, everything I needed was in the app; In depth lectures, a huge supply of multiple choice questions, flashcards, essay questions and answers, I was more prepared for the exam then I had been for any exam in my academic career. The entire spectrum of the exam content was covered and the depth was impeccable. I passed the New York State Bar on my first attempt using BarMax as my sole resource! I intend to sit the California Bar next year but with BarMax on my iPad I have nothing to worry about.

Jenna Fasone

Jenna Fasone

UCLA

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I cannot express how grateful I am for your program and services. I recently sat for the July 2015 bar exam and I can say that I felt incredibly well prepared thanks to you guys. I feel confident that I was in a great position because of how well I was able to absorb the information from your lectures and fantastic outlines, the fact that you guys use all real MBE questions (and provide very detailed explanations that helped me learn the material for the essays as well), the numerous model essays and performance tests, and the amazing (and always patient) customer service throughout my whole experience.

I also see a rapidly growing benefit in the message boards as you guys have more users providing feedback over time. I really learned a lot from reading the back and forth on message boards for the multiple choice and tried to provide my own helpful feedback whenever I could. I think this is a particularly brilliant feature that allows future test takers to learn from past and current users. I cannot recommend you guys highly enough. The price is a relative steal for the product you are offering. Thank you so much for making this grueling process as efficient as possible and much more affordable.

Shannon Ripple

Shannon Ripple

Humphreys College

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I took the Cal Bar four times before I passed. While in law school, I served as a Representative for a widely popular study course. I studied for the Cal Bar using this well-known course without success. I was turned onto BarMax through a friend who used the same program and failed the Cal Bar three times. After using BarMax for the first time, my friend passed, as did I. I couldn't recommend BarMax any higher. It's affordable, convenient, and effective. I wouldn't be a lawyer today without BarMax.

Joel Leon

Joel Leon

Suffolk University Law School

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I would like to start by stating that I have tried other bar prep companies in the past. Unfortunately, they did not assist me in achieving the goal of passing the bar exam. I had heard and seen BarMax’s reviews before I decided to enroll in the program. I needed a flexible, accessible, and, relatively, cheap bar program in order to prepare me for the UBE July 2016 in Washington, D.C.

BarMax prep program fit perfectly in my personal and employment life. I may add that BarMax prep’s program structure is very simple. Last, but not the least, I only paid 500 dollars for the entire program. That’s nothing compared to the thousands you have to pay for other bar prep companies. How did I get that price? I applied to BarMax’s public interest scholarship, a 500 dollars award. I have been working at a federal agency for more than three years. Therefore, I was selected to receive such scholarship, which reduced the cost of the program to 500 dollars.

I really want to thank BarMax for the opportunity to overcome a major challenge in my life and career. I have no words to express all the gratitude that I owe you. Please continue assisting other future bar takers in achieving their goals of passing the bar exam.

David Drwencke

David Drwencke

University of Detroit Mercy - School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

Now that it is nearly 2017 I think it is appalling that traditional programs are not leveraging smartphones/tablets to maximize bar preparation. Luckily I found BarMax which does exactly that! As a self-studier who worked full time leading up to the bar exam it was imperative that I maximize what little time I had available and BarMax came through big time. I could listen to lectures whenever I had free time because the lectures were available on my phone and on my tablet - I would listen to lectures while I drove to work, at lunch and whenever I had free time. I also loved having real MBE questions that were available on my phone, tablet and online anywhere I had an internet connection which meant I could sneak in questions just about anywhere and track my progress the entire time. BarMax comes down to being totally flexible and totally focused. The outlines cut to the chase as do the lectures. Study what you want, when you want, where you want - no more 100 page "outlines" and 4 hour lectures that require use of a laptop. I could not endorse BarMax any more strongly or recommend it to anyone.

Nick Parker

Nick Parker

Indiana University Maurer School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

When I started to think about bar prep courses, I was overwhelmed. I didn't want to become burned out by studying like some of my friends were. That's when I found BarMax.

The no-nonsense approach to the bar, coupled with the affordability and freedom provided by their course, were extremely appealing to me. I could focus purely on listening to lectures, reviewing flash cards, and taking practice exam questions for the MBE. Plus, the customer service at BarMax was quick and helpful - they answered all of my questions before I placed my order and even told me about a special promotion where I'd get my iPad for free! After passing the bar, I knew that BarMax was the way to go for bar studying.

Jeremiah Styles

Jeremiah Styles

Seattle University School of Law

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I used BarMax for the WA State UBE Summer 2015 Bar. I got a 318, when passing is a 270. I paid a third of what most of my friends paid for their program. I loved BarMax for it’s flexibility and effectiveness. After going through the lectures with the outlines, I reviewed them in the gym while working out.

BarMax made bar prep bearable, ensured my success, and cost me very little compared to the other options. Awesome program.

Kiana Khajeh

Kiana Khajeh

Trinity

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

Thank you BarMax for helping me pass the CA bar!

I had purchased BarBri back in March because it was embedded in my mind from day one of law school that everyone needs to use BarBri. About three weeks into BarBri, I was freaking out. My MBE score had gone up by a mere 3% when the class average had gone up by 11%. I was overwhelmed by the dense outlines.

Everyone kept telling me I only needed to know 60% of the material in order to pass. Some of those BarBri outlines were +100 pages long! I didn’t know which “60%” I needed to concentrate on and found myself stressing over the tiniest exceptions. The conviser was a better than the huge outlines, but then again, I felt like I wasn’t learning enough.

I just didn’t know how to study and felt like I had too many outlines in front of me. Of course, I would vent to anyone who would listen and I was fortunate enough that a friend told me about BarMax. I was a bit skeptical, but intrigued at the same. A family member saw how much I was stressing over bar prep so they bought me BarMax my third week of bar prep. I couldn’t believe that I had pretty much thrown $4,000 into the garbage with BarBri when I could’ve bought BarMax for a fourth of the price.

I felt like Goldilocks because I had finally found the perfect fit. Everything was “just right.” The outlines were easy to read and get through– they weren’t more than 25-30 pages. The rules were concise and to the point which made memorization that much easier. The MBEs were AMAZING because they were actual questions through the NCBE. I said goodbye to my “fake” BarBri MBE questions and focused on reading the BarMax outlines and doing MBEs as often as I could. I was able to raise my MBE score 20% by the end of the first week. I was ecstatic (obviously) when I received news that I had passed the CA bar.

I know, without a doubt, that I would not have passed without the tools BarMax provided. THANKS!!!!!

Kristy Williams

Kristy Williams

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I am a foreign educated lawyer, completing my LLB in Canada. Prior to purchasing the BarMax app I had no background in U.S. law. I should note was my first attempt at writing any U.S. bar exam.

I believe that the fact that I, with no background in US law, was able to pass the bar solely on the basis of your program is a testament to the thoroughness of your product. It was all I needed.

I would recommend this product to anyone, including foreign educated lawyers, interested in preparing to write the NY bar exam.

Zainab Abdullah

Zainab Abdullah

Harvard

Blue rule bc8f136a2c95189a6827b4caf41496bda449065f2cee55141d3d9c2cc5764989

I took the CA bar exam in Feb 2014 and cannot thank BarMax and its excellent team enough for helping me pass on my first try. BarMax focuses on practice and really allows the test taker to get to know the bar exam. The team is super helpful and accommodating, the former bar graders get back to you with excellent feedback and the portable MBEs and flash cards allow you to practice anywhere you are.

Marsha teasley 05cd8805d1e840ba53fe99815ca1d8ed8651aded160c93b625c791b88c87a017

Marsha Teasley

Peoples College of Law

Marsha Teasley

I believe BarMax made the difference when I passed the CA Bar Exam on my sixth attempt. I cannot even begin to express my gratitude to the BarMax team.

I knew from the moment I signed up for BarMax that there were people who were there to ensure my success, believed in me as an individual, and taught me in a way that I, personally, could understand.

Lindsay jansen 84c7c74e86cc470c1eb74be3f207ea105766824b3f1499416faa543c48abfedb

Lindsay Jansen

Boston College

Lindsay Jansen

About a month ago I found out that I passed the New York Bar Exam. WOOOHOOO!

Just a quick note of thanks for the BarMax product.

In the past I’d used BarBri, Emmanuel’s, Kaplan…you name it for Bar and MPRE exam studying. I squeaked out a passing score in Massachusetts on the second try after using BarBri but it wasn’t pretty. A few years later I moved to NY and needed to pass the bar again. I took the February 2012 exam (self study using BarBri notes/books) and failed.

I knew my brain just didn’t work with the traditional study courses and that I had to do something different for July 2012. I found BarMax and it finally worked! I improved my MBE score more than 15 points. The app wasn’t perfect and there were some kinks to work out but I was very happy with the product and would recommend it to students anywhere.

Stefanie cox df5f682a9d9ebafd3f9e18fa6e9ccaf47d25dde991aebcdbe77a9cadecb5b202

Stefanie Cox

Concord

Stefanie Cox

I am sold on the device and the mode of study (great for listening in the car and using the app on breaks). It is a great base for self-study. The MBE portion of the program is quite attractive — the program is all touch screen. The size of the text can be increased so it is relatively easy on the eyes making reading quite manageable to do your MBEs on the iTouch.

What is nice on this part of the app is you can mark off the answers like we are supposed to [on the real exam], enabling you to determine the answer by elimination. Kudos for that. In my eyes, that feature is BIG.

John c sweeney 37d4acaed5484ea55a26b83421d3d772482aaf259eb944148ed77490ca919df3

John C Sweeney

Brooklyn

John C Sweeney

It is thanks to BarMax that I passed the NY Bar exam.

I had failed the exam 4 times before, having taken and/ or used Barbri, PMBR, and Baroutlines.com. None of these gave me the kind of practical, user-friendly review I got from BarMax. I also needed a comprehensive review since years had passed for me since my last attempt at the exam, and BarMax provided that as well. I was able to study, review, and do practice questions and essays practically anywhere and anytime that worked for me, on my own schedule, as long as I had my iPad with me.

The practice questions, in particular, and the ability through the app to easily gauge your progress on them was invaluable. really cannot recommend this product enough (in fact I already have to friends taking the July 2012 exam!) Admittedly, I thought the price tag was a bit steep when I purchased BarMax but I took a chance and it has been well worth it!

I paid 4 times that for other courses without the results. BarMax is the Bar review method of the future. I took a chance and succeeded, and if it worked for me it can work for anyone!

Anthony garrido caccaf223df1c8f5ff861ae52b285678c905a126fce463d35f4e198f49ab0063

Anthony Garrido

UC Davis

Anthony Garrido

I first took the California Bar Exam after taking BarBri and failed. I felt I had been overwhelmed with information, the content was not focused, and the lectures were far too broad and lengthy.

After that, I simply used the books from the BarBri course, and a few others, and studied on my own. I felt it would be a waste of time and money to go through the entire BarBri course again, so I didn’t.

After failing again, I knew I needed something different, and BarMax provided it. The program is organized so well and it’s so easy to stay on task because the program is portable and put into an electronic calendar. I used my iPod touch for the program, and took notes on my iPad. I could study almost anywhere where concentration was possible.

Also, there’s a stark contrast in the substantive material as presented by BarMax vs BarBri. BarMax provides tightly focused, specific information and the tools they give you to help you remember the broader points are invaluable. It’s not overwhelming.

When I finally passed the exam using BarMax, During the exam, for every essay question, I wrote down the exact sentences provided in the outline for triggering my memory of the broader points. I really felt prepared for that exam for the first time. Afterward, to everyone that asked, I said, I can’t be absolutely sure that I passed, but I know I nailed those essay questions. It was a very good feeling.

You really can’t go wrong if you stick with the method they give you. It’s uncanny how much better this program is both in efficiency and substance, than any other source I used.

Jim rogers 8093c037949830bc23b15ed1d0f014d6964d54f42281df474600e00a25b9d8e4

Jim Rogers

Nova Southeastern

Jim Rogers

This is a great app and well worth the money especially considering the other bar prep courses are at least three times as much.

I took the Feb 2012 NY Bar and smoked it while studying solely with BarMax NY for iPad. They have not skimped on content. The content of BarMax equals that of the major bar study programs with tons of audio lectures, essays, sample essay answers, outlines and very attentive customer service reps.

I found the multiple choice questions are actually fun to do with a really easy to use interface and up to date statistics which allow you to keep track of your percentages and how they compare with others. Don’t be afraid to step outside the norm. BarMax is a cutting edge concept that works. Bar Exam study is tedious and can be very stressful. I found at times, using BarMax for iPad made the study experience more enjoyable.

Merritt baer 140ecb57c40613e58d505d07c998fa792a06fab6825d0330b89d79664815710f

Merritt Baer

Harvard

Merritt Baer

With BarMax I could study anywhere and spend time on the things I needed. I didn’t pay the money or go through the long painful lecture of the usual bar prep classes and I passed the NY Bar just the same.

Shane larsen 61dd361848e5dc880621948935ef54e4651bdd31e6dca6c92e28afb85d372755

Shane Larsen

George Washington

Shane Larsen

I highly recommend this program. I took another bar exam before I sat for the California bar. After taking a bar prep course from the one of the big name bar prep companies and then using this app for the California bar, I can assure you that this app contains all the necessary information in every bit as much detail as the competitors.

I found the lectures to be very detailed and the speakers to be on par with even the best lecturers from the competitors. If I had one suggestion it would be that the skeleton outlines the app provides could be updated to have fill in the blank answers in order to keep the listener engaged during the lecture. But the outlines are excellent review material and are designed to hit the important information and elements so you can have it all memorized for the exam.

As long as you are willing to put in the effort to study and thoroughly review the sample questions and answers this app will get you past the finish line without requiring an additional bar loan on top of your already mountain of student loan debt. I passed the CA bar on the first attempt, while working over 40hrs/week leading right up to the day of the exam. The app really provides you flexibility to study wherever and whenever you can.

David glasgow 1894a3babafa399882fd3e7b22a9b4a66ccde58f49fa0c8ba53bb3d47316f6b9

David Glasgow

Melbourne

David Glasgow

I just wanted to say thank you for your New York bar review course. I am an Australian lawyer who took your course and sat for the New York bar exam in July this year. I had never studied any American law before and took the course by myself. I found out a couple of weeks ago that I passed the exam.

As a first-time taker, I was nervous about sitting the exam and nervous about choosing a course other than the major Barbri or Kaplan options. But obviously I made the right choice, so thanks for designing a clear, effective and comprehensive course that is also much cheaper than the major competitors.

Ester vanguardia fb25fa21684a0330e774b101c6c87471999795b7c80a5b80b17bb219b38c9d11

Ester Vanguardia

University of the Philippines

Ester Vanguardia

With BarMax I didn’t feel like I overprepared or wasted a lot of time studying irrelevant matters. The presentation of the matter was very straightforward and basic and the real MBE questions helped a lot.

Geoff friedman 86962f0d32af0cb5382125214267f111cd61c65a88df7c2dd47537f0491120c8

Geoff Friedman

Harvard

Geoff Friedman

Wanted to say I had a great experience with this app, and I think it’s a great way to prepare for the bar exam. It was easy to use and struck the right balance between giving me exactly the information I needed to succeed on the bar exam without overloading me with too much content.

My friends taking other classes seemed a bit stressed out because of the overload of materials they had. Loved that I could listen to lectures anywhere, and that I could take multiple choice tests right on the iPad. And because it was all on the iPad, I was able to visit family and friends while still studying, which was a huge plus. You’ve got to learn to set your own pace and be diligent, but the content’s all there.

And most importantly, I passed the California bar on my first try. Using only BarMax, I felt as prepared as I could be come exam day. Don’t get me wrong, bar studying is not fun, but I’d recommend this app highly for anyone who’s studying for the bar.

Barbara taylor af5c23fa629f34d91e3ecb052627c1d6b1b83bf65f749e4e411d0e4685fd41e3

Barbara Taylor

Barbara Taylor

I refused to pony up the many grand for barbri last year, and missed passing the California bar by nine points, so when I was preparing for the retake, I wanted a solid review that would boost my confidence and thoroughly prepare me.

BarMax had good lectures, plenty of MBEs with explanations, and essay grading available. I believe this would be a good course for a first-time taker, too. Make sure you put in plenty of TIME, make sure you KNOW the law, and make sure you PRACTICE lots of essays and performance tests, then compare your answers to actual bar answers.

Thanks, BarMax for providing what I needed.

Kelly kim 1513f07c82c1bf54677e6d2c7b36c8f3d8d6a8bbf18729037416133b3cb17545

Kelly Kim

Pepperdine

Kelly Kim

BarMax is a great program to study for the California Bar. Its gigantic bank of multiple choice questions, essays, and performance tests gives any test-taker ample opportunity to see everything that the bar can throw at you.

The notes are sufficient, but not overwhelming, enough to prepare you for the test, but not too much to freak you out about not knowing enough (this is coming from a person who did not take any classes on two of the subjects tested on the bar: community property and criminal procedure).

The program was easy to use and the fact that everything was accessed through the iPad made it easy to study anywhere. And obviously, the price is unmatched. You will definitely need to put in your time, but that’s the same with every other program out there.

Maryalice khan 086165a244224d7f6f94d4dcf976079bce984022594015f1e7435049090943d4

Maryalice Khan

Maryalice Khan

BarMax is an excellent bar review program substantively, there is overall ease of use, and portability, which for me is a lifesaver…

Susan brown acc0dca915e7a6418170dd2ffd559044c45a0d126a9fa0ecdf2960742d020b36

Susan Brown

University of Toronto

Susan Brown

I used BarMax’s California and MBE courses for the July 2012 California bar exam, and I cannot recommend them highly enough. In the Spring of 2012, I was in the process of wrapping up a busy practice in Canada and relocating to the Bay Area. I did not have time to attend full-day lectures. I needed a flexible, compact study solution that would allow me to work on my own time. BarMax was perfect. I listened to lectures on my iPhone while jogging/at the gym, while running errands, and while traveling. I did practice MBE questions and reviewed flashcards on my iPad in a variety of locations – in a hotel room, on airplanes, and in cafes and libraries. The portability was a huge benefit for me.

BarMax also does a terrific job of condensing materials and focusing on the content that is truly needed to pass the bar exam. There was far, far less reading material in the BarMax outlines than in other course offerings, which allowed me to really focus on learning the key information. After completing the course, I found that I was pleased to find on exam day that I was comfortably familiar with all of the material tested on the California bar exam and MBE.

Finally, I really appreciated that BarMax uses real MBE and essay questions they have acquired from the NCBX and State Bar. I had the opportunity to look at material from other courses while I was studying, and I found the essay and multiple choice questions developed by other bar prep programs were very different from the actual questions I faced on exam day.

A lot of people praise BarMax for offering a more cost effective bar prep course than Barbri and others. The cost savings are great, but in my opinion, the real advantage is that the BarMax course itself is simply better than the competition.

Jamie horowitz e5b79d97e7bdf2a76e07b4e3769640313c2966d168dec2b0ae792faab7d08fc6

Jamie Horowitz

UC Hastings

Jamie Horowitz

With the help of BarMax, I passed the February 2013 California bar exam on my second attempt! The first time I studied for the California bar exam, I used BarBri. During the BarBri program, I felt very overwhelmed by the number of daily assignments to complete as well as how to use the many different outlines provided for each subject. I spent a great deal of time trying to figure out how to best use the BarBri material. I also felt the BarBri MBE questions were different than the types of questions and material that I saw during the actual exam. Despite studying for long hours every day with BarBri, I was not making the progress I needed to succeed on exam day.

BarMax provided me with a more positive study experience than BarBri, because the BarMax program was very streamlined and manageable. I was able to accomplish all of the BarMax daily assignments each day and still had additional time to review material. BarMax provides one very comprehensive outline per subject. This was very helpful because I did not need to spend time comparing multiple outlines and different presentations of the material. As BarMax provides previously released MBE questions, I felt comfortable and prepared with the types of questions and material that were most likely to appear on the exam. Also, the feedback provided by the BarMax graders on my essay submissions was insightful; I could tell the graders spent time to read, analyze and comment on my essays. With the BarMax program, the time I spent studying was efficient, effective and I was making progress each day and week.

Finally, it was very helpful to have all of the material, including outlines, flashcards, lectures, and MBE questions, on my iPhone. With BarMax, I did not need to carry around multiple heavy books. I could easily practice a few MBE questions, listen to a particular section of a lecture, or review a part of an outline, while on the go!

After studying with BarMax, I felt very prepared on exam day. I would highly recommend BarMax to anyone studying for the California Bar exam, especially to anyone retaking the exam, who is unsure about how to re-approach studying.

Thank you BarMax for helping me pass the California bar exam!

Michael aschenbrener 5a70e370aa623f0073d434d45c2634965eeb5f1d70f3ba3f3bd3412457fc74c6

Michael Aschenbrener

Chicago-Kent

Michael Aschenbrener

Overall, I’m pleased. This is my third bar exam; I’ve taken and passed the Illinois and Minnesota exams. As a result, I have a pretty good sense of what works and doesn’t work for me.

Also, as a frequent traveler, this solution is great. I would definitely market this product to existing attorneys who travel a lot. I have a great deal of time on the long flights back and forth to California from Chicago to study. And doing so is much easier on an iPod than with a slew of heavy books in tow.

Helena kastlova 9894c218fc18594c638d314758af2146e22bec875b6c34597b52f8939af4ad16

Helena Kastlova

Cambridge

Helena Kastlova

I am a foreign attorney who was educated and practiced only in Europe. Prior taking the California bar exam I had no experience with US law whatsoever. I was preparing myself for the exam solely based on BarMax and I passed the bar exam on the first attempt. I can only highly recommend this prep course for anyone – it apparently includes all you need to know to pass the exam.

The outlines are very well prepared and if you learn them well and practice essay writing, you have a good chance to pass. And I really appreciated the sample multiple choice questions. I have also very good experience with communication with BarMax people – whenever any bugs occurred and I reported them, they answered immediately and tried to help. I just needed more time than recommended by the app (about 3 months), but maybe I would succeed even with less time.

All in all, I was really happy with the app and think it was definitely well invested money. Thank you!

Leslie lee gildea c70d23875da1db8be0c3997da460d9f70b139b047c86e0fcbad11b7edb4ecc76

Leslie Lee Gildea

George Washington

Leslie Lee Gildea

The first thing that attracted me about BarMax was the affordability. It’s only a 1/4 of the price quoted to me by other bar review courses. As someone who couldn’t afford to take out more student loans, BarMax’s price point is what drew me in at first.

Another appealing feature was its portability. I needed something that would permit me to be flexible in where I studied. I continued to work while studying for the bar. With BarMax, I could study everywhere even without access to wifi. I brought my iPad with me to the gym, played lectures while driving to work, and even did multiple choice practice questions during breaks at work.

Finally, after having passed the bar using BarMax, I can say that it is effective. The lectures are broken up into bite-sized segments which makes it easy to process. The lecturers have great mnemonics that helped me memorize rules. The way the MBE practice questions are laid out ensures that you understand why you got certain questions wrong and forces you to go back and tackle your weak areas.

Instead of twenty stacked books filled with an overwhelming amount of information, BarMax breaks everything you need to know for the bar exam into simple terms so you can just focus on passing. I would recommend to all!

Ready to get started?

Sign Up

Questions? See our FAQ