Some of our favorite success stories

BarMax has helped thousands of students from all over the world and all walks of life pass the bar exam.

Susan Brown
Susan Brown
University of Toronto
quote The cost savings are great, but in my opinion, the real advantage is that the BarMax course itself is simply better than the competition.
Leslie Lee Gildea
Leslie Lee Gildea
George Washington
quote The way the MBE practice questions are laid out ensures that you understand why you got certain questions wrong and forces you to go back and tackle your weak areas.
David Glasgow
David Glasgow
Melbourne
quote I had never studied any American law before and took the course by myself. I found out a couple of weeks ago that I passed the exam!
App Store Icon

The highest-rated in the App Store.

Simply the best

5 Stars Leilawno

Great app, easy to use, and fair price. I consider this app the reason I passed the July 2015 CA bar.

BarMax was a life saver.

5 Stars Timothyf31

Not only did I pass the bar, but I scored in the top 10 percent. I genuinely give BarMax a lot of credit for making ths possible. I’d highly recommend it to anyone.

Great Substantive Bar Review

5 Stars Bad.hair.spray

Materials are clearly top notch and very user friendly. Obviously the value of not having to carry around physical books goes without saying.

David Drwencke

David Drwencke

University of Detroit Mercy - School of Law

Blue rule 174533f9c63d0b7c4e14e807e6697bc372392b8e440553c51cd402cfa4ba8a34

Now that it is nearly 2017 I think it is appalling that traditional programs are not leveraging smartphones/tablets to maximize bar preparation. Luckily I found BarMax which does exactly that! As a self-studier who worked full time leading up to the bar exam it was imperative that I maximize what little time I had available and BarMax came through big time. I could listen to lectures whenever I had free time because the lectures were available on my phone and on my tablet - I would listen to lectures while I drove to work, at lunch and whenever I had free time. I also loved having real MBE questions that were available on my phone, tablet and online anywhere I had an internet connection which meant I could sneak in questions just about anywhere and track my progress the entire time. BarMax comes down to being totally flexible and totally focused. The outlines cut to the chase as do the lectures. Study what you want, when you want, where you want - no more 100 page "outlines" and 4 hour lectures that require use of a laptop. I could not endorse BarMax any more strongly or recommend it to anyone.

Nick Parker

Nick Parker

Indiana University Maurer School of Law

Blue rule 174533f9c63d0b7c4e14e807e6697bc372392b8e440553c51cd402cfa4ba8a34

When I started to think about bar prep courses, I was overwhelmed. I didn't want to become burned out by studying like some of my friends were. That's when I found BarMax.

The no-nonsense approach to the bar, coupled with the affordability and freedom provided by their course, were extremely appealing to me. I could focus purely on listening to lectures, reviewing flash cards, and taking practice exam questions for the MBE. Plus, the customer service at BarMax was quick and helpful - they answered all of my questions before I placed my order and even told me about a special promotion where I'd get my iPad for free! After passing the bar, I knew that BarMax was the way to go for bar studying.

Jeremiah Styles

Jeremiah Styles

Blue rule 174533f9c63d0b7c4e14e807e6697bc372392b8e440553c51cd402cfa4ba8a34

I used BarMax for the WA State UBE Summer 2015 Bar. I got a 318, when passing is a 270. I paid a third of what most of my friends paid for their program. I loved BarMax for it’s flexibility and effectiveness. After going through the lectures with the outlines, I reviewed them in the gym while working out.

BarMax made bar prep bearable, ensured my success, and cost me very little compared to the other options. Awesome program.

Kiana Khajeh

Kiana Khajeh

Trinity

Blue rule 174533f9c63d0b7c4e14e807e6697bc372392b8e440553c51cd402cfa4ba8a34

Thank you BarMax for helping me pass the CA bar!

I had purchased BarBri back in March because it was embedded in my mind from day one of law school that everyone needs to use BarBri. About three weeks into BarBri, I was freaking out. My MBE score had gone up by a mere 3% when the class average had gone up by 11%. I was overwhelmed by the dense outlines.

Everyone kept telling me I only needed to know 60% of the material in order to pass. Some of those BarBri outlines were +100 pages long! I didn’t know which “60%” I needed to concentrate on and found myself stressing over the tiniest exceptions. The conviser was a better than the huge outlines, but then again, I felt like I wasn’t learning enough.

I just didn’t know how to study and felt like I had too many outlines in front of me. Of course, I would vent to anyone who would listen and I was fortunate enough that a friend told me about BarMax. I was a bit skeptical, but intrigued at the same. A family member saw how much I was stressing over bar prep so they bought me BarMax my third week of bar prep. I couldn’t believe that I had pretty much thrown $4,000 into the garbage with BarBri when I could’ve bought BarMax for a fourth of the price.

I felt like Goldilocks because I had finally found the perfect fit. Everything was “just right.” The outlines were easy to read and get through– they weren’t more than 25-30 pages. The rules were concise and to the point which made memorization that much easier. The MBEs were AMAZING because they were actual questions through the NCBE. I said goodbye to my “fake” BarBri MBE questions and focused on reading the BarMax outlines and doing MBEs as often as I could. I was able to raise my MBE score 20% by the end of the first week. I was ecstatic (obviously) when I received news that I had passed the CA bar.

I know, without a doubt, that I would not have passed without the tools BarMax provided. THANKS!!!!!

Kristy Williams

Kristy Williams

Blue rule 174533f9c63d0b7c4e14e807e6697bc372392b8e440553c51cd402cfa4ba8a34

I am a foreign educated lawyer, completing my LLB in Canada. Prior to purchasing the BarMax app I had no background in U.S. law. I should note was my first attempt at writing any U.S. bar exam.

I believe that the fact that I, with no background in US law, was able to pass the bar solely on the basis of your program is a testament to the thoroughness of your product. It was all I needed.

I would recommend this product to anyone, including foreign educated lawyers, interested in preparing to write the NY bar exam.

Zainab Abdullah

Zainab Abdullah

Harvard

Blue rule 174533f9c63d0b7c4e14e807e6697bc372392b8e440553c51cd402cfa4ba8a34

I took the CA bar exam in Feb 2014 and cannot thank BarMax and its excellent team enough for helping me pass on my first try. BarMax focuses on practice and really allows the test taker to get to know the bar exam. The team is super helpful and accommodating, the former bar graders get back to you with excellent feedback and the portable MBEs and flash cards allow you to practice anywhere you are.

Marsha teasley 910418af68ce6d58ca830c16c100ca2c408ebb415d90b8f3e1a0099c546285c5

Marsha Teasley

Peoples College of Law

Marsha Teasley

I believe BarMax made the difference when I passed the CA Bar Exam on my sixth attempt. I cannot even begin to express my gratitude to the BarMax team.

I knew from the moment I signed up for BarMax that there were people who were there to ensure my success, believed in me as an individual, and taught me in a way that I, personally, could understand.

Lindsay jansen 8a8d0646e330bdad10b008638171dce8fa0d42cdbfcc41d9e7ef30edc905cddf

Lindsay Jansen

Boston College

Lindsay Jansen

About a month ago I found out that I passed the New York Bar Exam. WOOOHOOO!

Just a quick note of thanks for the BarMax product.

In the past I’d used BarBri, Emmanuel’s, Kaplan…you name it for Bar and MPRE exam studying. I squeaked out a passing score in Massachusetts on the second try after using BarBri but it wasn’t pretty. A few years later I moved to NY and needed to pass the bar again. I took the February 2012 exam (self study using BarBri notes/books) and failed.

I knew my brain just didn’t work with the traditional study courses and that I had to do something different for July 2012. I found BarMax and it finally worked! I improved my MBE score more than 15 points. The app wasn’t perfect and there were some kinks to work out but I was very happy with the product and would recommend it to students anywhere.

Stefanie cox 47df1af9b117808fb6f0ba506d651553d14163725d19ea5b51735bae5cb4bef8

Stefanie Cox

Concord

Stefanie Cox

I am sold on the device and the mode of study (great for listening in the car and using the app on breaks). It is a great base for self-study. The MBE portion of the program is quite attractive — the program is all touch screen. The size of the text can be increased so it is relatively easy on the eyes making reading quite manageable to do your MBEs on the iTouch.

What is nice on this part of the app is you can mark off the answers like we are supposed to [on the real exam], enabling you to determine the answer by elimination. Kudos for that. In my eyes, that feature is BIG.

John c sweeney 11fbf741282f3a3757f102f7f3151a3413fe30f7a7d59c27dc91ec22195b91bc

John C Sweeney

Brooklyn

John C Sweeney

It is thanks to BarMax that I passed the NY Bar exam.

I had failed the exam 4 times before, having taken and/ or used Barbri, PMBR, and Baroutlines.com. None of these gave me the kind of practical, user-friendly review I got from BarMax. I also needed a comprehensive review since years had passed for me since my last attempt at the exam, and BarMax provided that as well. I was able to study, review, and do practice questions and essays practically anywhere and anytime that worked for me, on my own schedule, as long as I had my iPad with me.

The practice questions, in particular, and the ability through the app to easily gauge your progress on them was invaluable. really cannot recommend this product enough (in fact I already have to friends taking the July 2012 exam!) Admittedly, I thought the price tag was a bit steep when I purchased BarMax but I took a chance and it has been well worth it!

I paid 4 times that for other courses without the results. BarMax is the Bar review method of the future. I took a chance and succeeded, and if it worked for me it can work for anyone!

Anthony garrido b18408f3d54ae6d1d7591b1273349f9b16ca1ff3db69010d827512f41a38a806

Anthony Garrido

UC Davis

Anthony Garrido

I first took the California Bar Exam after taking BarBri and failed. I felt I had been overwhelmed with information, the content was not focused, and the lectures were far too broad and lengthy.

After that, I simply used the books from the BarBri course, and a few others, and studied on my own. I felt it would be a waste of time and money to go through the entire BarBri course again, so I didn’t.

After failing again, I knew I needed something different, and BarMax provided it. The program is organized so well and it’s so easy to stay on task because the program is portable and put into an electronic calendar. I used my iPod touch for the program, and took notes on my iPad. I could study almost anywhere where concentration was possible.

Also, there’s a stark contrast in the substantive material as presented by BarMax vs BarBri. BarMax provides tightly focused, specific information and the tools they give you to help you remember the broader points are invaluable. It’s not overwhelming.

When I finally passed the exam using BarMax, During the exam, for every essay question, I wrote down the exact sentences provided in the outline for triggering my memory of the broader points. I really felt prepared for that exam for the first time. Afterward, to everyone that asked, I said, I can’t be absolutely sure that I passed, but I know I nailed those essay questions. It was a very good feeling.

You really can’t go wrong if you stick with the method they give you. It’s uncanny how much better this program is both in efficiency and substance, then any other source I used.

Jim rogers cbf22b650e7e44122efa21c38c4e331c488b5b6cc45bbb848a8a3046f1092549

Jim Rogers

Nova Southeastern

Jim Rogers

This is a great app and well worth the money especially considering the other bar prep courses are at least three times as much.

I took the Feb 2012 NY Bar and smoked it while studying solely with BarMax NY for iPad. They have not skimped on content. The content of BarMax equals that of the major bar study programs with tons of audio lectures, essays, sample essay answers, outlines and very attentive customer service reps.

I found the multiple choice questions are actually fun to do with a really easy to use interface and up to date statistics which allow you to keep track of your percentages and how they compare with others. Don’t be afraid to step outside the norm. BarMax is a cutting edge concept that works. Bar Exam study is tedious and can be very stressful. I found at times, using BarMax for iPad made the study experience more enjoyable.

Merritt baer af788909e293938acefd801242beb4f0fccfeac3f991955ac50f3640f7ed0049

Merritt Baer

Harvard

Merritt Baer

With BarMax I could study anywhere and spend time on the things I needed. I didn’t pay the money or go through the long painful lecture of the usual bar prep classes and I passed the NY Bar just the same.

Shane larsen 353eb976d7f6a17c3343e4e48f6b75f9c0e3a45f10c799cf7c1c189dce2db129

Shane Larsen

George Washington

Shane Larsen

I highly recommend this program. I took another bar exam before I sat for the California bar. After taking a bar prep course from the one of the big name bar prep companies and then using this app for the California bar, I can assure you that this app contains all the necessary information in every bit as much detail as the competitors.

I found the lectures to be very detailed and the speakers to be on par with even the best lecturers from the competitors. If I had one suggestion it would be that the skeleton outlines the app provides could be updated to have fill in the blank answers in order to keep the listener engaged during the lecture. But the outlines are excellent review material and are designed to hit the important information and elements so you can have it all memorized for the exam.

As long as you are willing to put in the effort to study and thoroughly review the sample questions and answers this app will get you past the finish line without requiring an additional bar loan on top of your already mountain of student loan debt. I passed the CA bar on the first attempt, while working over 40hrs/week leading right up to the day of the exam. The app really provides you flexibility to study wherever and whenever you can.

David glasgow ddc07353f6c8d9fc6dc47def4f6dd0bc6a8e07383a721fef54b88353c4cd540f

David Glasgow

Melbourne

David Glasgow

I just wanted to say thank you for your New York bar review course. I am an Australian lawyer who took your course and sat for the New York bar exam in July this year. I had never studied any American law before and took the course by myself. I found out a couple of weeks ago that I passed the exam.

As a first-time taker, I was nervous about sitting the exam and nervous about choosing a course other than the major Barbri or Kaplan options. But obviously I made the right choice, so thanks for designing a clear, effective and comprehensive course that is also much cheaper than the major competitors.

Ester vanguardia 107568b94aa6970730d8686b6f30b8fe42f20d697a896cee283811104714fcae

Ester Vanguardia

University of the Philippines

Ester Vanguardia

With BarMax I didn’t feel like I overprepared or wasted a lot of time studying irrelevant matters. The presentation of the matter was very straightforward and basic and the real MBE questions helped a lot.

Geoff friedman bf6484add31b31b3084286752a59e5ecf7b4edd7b2027da2c4bf21c54559179b

Geoff Friedman

Harvard

Geoff Friedman

Wanted to say I had a great experience with this app, and I think it’s a great way to prepare for the bar exam. It was easy to use and struck the right balance between giving me exactly the information I needed to succeed on the bar exam without overloading me with too much content.

My friends taking other classes seemed a bit stressed out because of the overload of materials they had. Loved that I could listen to lectures anywhere, and that I could take multiple choice tests right on the iPad. And because it was all on the iPad, I was able to visit family and friends while still studying, which was a huge plus. You’ve got to learn to set your own pace and be diligent, but the content’s all there.

And most importantly, I passed the California bar on my first try. Using only BarMax, I felt as prepared as I could be come exam day. Don’t get me wrong, bar studying is not fun, but I’d recommend this app highly for anyone who’s studying for the bar.

Barbara taylor 54edd930df76ee5317c781799d33797ee5575d8dd0eb983d89bc64896b44c15e

Barbara Taylor

Barbara Taylor

I refused to pony up the many grand for barbri last year, and missed passing the California bar by nine points, so when I was preparing for the retake, I wanted a solid review that would boost my confidence and thoroughly prepare me.

BarMax had good lectures, plenty of MBEs with explanations, and essay grading available. I believe this would be a good course for a first-time taker, too. Make sure you put in plenty of TIME, make sure you KNOW the law, and make sure you PRACTICE lots of essays and performance tests, then compare your answers to actual bar answers.

Thanks, BarMax for providing what I needed.

Kelly kim cac2e610cc236be82d93b61edb6e6f69bfb55c55761833f27496b3aff79a473e

Kelly Kim

Pepperdine

Kelly Kim

BarMax is a great program to study for the California Bar. Its gigantic bank of multiple choice questions, essays, and performance tests gives any test-taker ample opportunity to see everything that the bar can throw at you.

The notes are sufficient, but not overwhelming, enough to prepare you for the test, but not too much to freak you out about not knowing enough (this is coming from a person who did not take any classes on two of the subjects tested on the bar: community property and criminal procedure).

The program was easy to use and the fact that everything was accessed through the iPad made it easy to study anywhere. And obviously, the price is unmatched. You will definitely need to put in your time, but that’s the same with every other program out there.

Maryalice khan 22a14993ad9a64ea759757eb44112cf782a56eca1bcb1e20ecb46df86d9bd7f6

Maryalice Khan

Maryalice Khan

BarMax is an excellent bar review program substantively, there is overall ease of use, and portability, which for me is a lifesaver…

Susan brown e541b2f1c6c23a4ae167d401cc6720d6bc8007db06c081321cefc0c7931fbac6

Susan Brown

University of Toronto

Susan Brown

I used BarMax’s California and MBE courses for the July 2012 California bar exam, and I cannot recommend them highly enough. In the Spring of 2012, I was in the process of wrapping up a busy practice in Canada and relocating to the Bay Area. I did not have time to attend full-day lectures. I needed a flexible, compact study solution that would allow me to work on my own time. BarMax was perfect. I listened to lectures on my iPhone while jogging/at the gym, while running errands, and while traveling. I did practice MBE questions and reviewed flashcards on my iPad in a variety of locations – in a hotel room, on airplanes, and in cafes and libraries. The portability was a huge benefit for me.

BarMax also does a terrific job of condensing materials and focusing on the content that is truly needed to pass the bar exam. There was far, far less reading material in the BarMax outlines than in other course offerings, which allowed me to really focus on learning the key information. After completing the course, I found that I was pleased to find on exam day that I was comfortably familiar with all of the material tested on the California bar exam and MBE.

Finally, I really appreciated that BarMax uses real MBE and essay questions they have acquired from the NCBX and State Bar. I had the opportunity to look at material from other courses while I was studying, and I found the essay and multiple choice questions developed by other bar prep programs were very different from the actual questions I faced on exam day.

A lot of people praise BarMax for offering a more cost effective bar prep course than Barbri and others. The cost savings are great, but in my opinion, the real advantage is that the BarMax course itself is simply better than the competition.

Jamie horowitz 9ca4237ba1f95b5dec75850f2901c66a05b93e9246594285c104b46dcebaaa44

Jamie Horowitz

UC Hastings

Jamie Horowitz

With the help of BarMax, I passed the February 2013 California bar exam on my second attempt! The first time I studied for the California bar exam, I used BarBri. During the BarBri program, I felt very overwhelmed by the number of daily assignments to complete as well as how to use the many different outlines provided for each subject. I spent a great deal of time trying to figure out how to best use the BarBri material. I also felt the BarBri MBE questions were different than the types of questions and material that I saw during the actual exam. Despite studying for long hours every day with BarBri, I was not making the progress I needed to succeed on exam day.

BarMax provided me with a more positive study experience than BarBri, because the BarMax program was very streamlined and manageable. I was able to accomplish all of the BarMax daily assignments each day and still had additional time to review material. BarMax provides one very comprehensive outline per subject. This was very helpful because I did not need to spend time comparing multiple outlines and different presentations of the material. As BarMax provides previously released MBE questions, I felt comfortable and prepared with the types of questions and material that were most likely to appear on the exam. Also, the feedback provided by the BarMax graders on my essay submissions was insightful; I could tell the graders spent time to read, analyze and comment on my essays. With the BarMax program, the time I spent studying was efficient, effective and I was making progress each day and week.

Finally, it was very helpful to have all of the material, including outlines, flashcards, lectures, and MBE questions, on my iPhone. With BarMax, I did not need to carry around multiple heavy books. I could easily practice a few MBE questions, listen to a particular section of a lecture, or review a part of an outline, while on the go!

After studying with BarMax, I felt very prepared on exam day. I would highly recommend BarMax to anyone studying for the California Bar exam, especially to anyone retaking the exam, who is unsure about how to re-approach studying.

Thank you BarMax for helping me pass the California bar exam!

Michael aschenbrener a571f069a2768dff1a506a234ab05dd9fd04d810ceaf0825893a90483916afe6

Michael Aschenbrener

Chicago-Kent

Michael Aschenbrener

Overall, I’m pleased. This is my third bar exam; I’ve taken and passed the Illinois and Minnesota exams. As a result, I have a pretty good sense of what works and doesn’t work for me.

Also, as a frequent traveler, this solution is great. I would definitely market this product to existing attorneys who travel a lot. I have a great deal of time on the long flights back and forth to California from Chicago to study. And doing so is much easier on an iPod than with a slew of heavy books in tow.

Helena kastlova 9f45fbd53844b7e0980ad604e19a6e16d5d19b9dc44b5c97220472ae275f1b12

Helena Kastlova

Cambridge

Helena Kastlova

I am a foreign attorney who was educated and practiced only in Europe. Prior taking the California bar exam I had no experience with US law whatsoever. I was preparing myself for the exam solely based on BarMax and I passed the bar exam on the first attempt. I can only highly recommend this prep course for anyone – it apparently includes all you need to know to pass the exam.

The outlines are very well prepared and if you learn them well and practice essay writing, you have a good chance to pass. And I really appreciated the sample multiple choice questions. I have also very good experience with communication with BarMax people – whenever any bugs occurred and I reported them, they answered immediately and tried to help. I just needed more time than recommended by the app (about 3 months), but maybe I would succeed even with less time.

All in all, I was really happy with the app and think it was definitely well invested money. Thank you!

Leslie lee gildea d7c1613915710989fdce1bea006412767be5e465d2ff0668b3971c5a0f93c578

Leslie Lee Gildea

George Washington

Leslie Lee Gildea

The first thing that attracted me about BarMax was the affordability. It’s only a 1/4 of the price quoted to me by other bar review courses. As someone who couldn’t afford to take out more student loans, BarMax’s price point is what drew me in at first.

Another appealing feature was its portability. I needed something that would permit me to be flexible in where I studied. I continued to work while studying for the bar. With BarMax, I could study everywhere even without access to wifi. I brought my iPad with me to the gym, played lectures while driving to work, and even did multiple choice practice questions during breaks at work.

Finally, after having passed the bar using BarMax, I can say that it is effective. The lectures are broken up into bite-sized segments which makes it easy to process. The lecturers have great mnemonics that helped me memorize rules. The way the MBE practice questions are laid out ensures that you understand why you got certain questions wrong and forces you to go back and tackle your weak areas.

Instead of twenty stacked books filled with an overwhelming amount of information, BarMax breaks everything you need to know for the bar exam into simple terms so you can just focus on passing. I would recommend to all!

Ready to get started?

Sign Up

Questions? See our FAQ