Group Games Questions - - Question 4

If K is on both committees and L is also on both committees and if the planting committee has exactly three members, ...

jstaff August 19, 2018

J added to Trail Committee

Why was 'J' added to the Trails committee?

Reply
Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Mehran August 19, 2018

Hi @jstaff, thanks for your post. This question tests your ability to apply local rules provided in the question stem to the original rules provided at the outset.

Here, you are told K is on both committees. If K is on a committee, J is also on that committee. So you know that K & J are both on the planting and trails committee.

You are also told that L is on both committees. So you know that K, J, and L are all on both the planting and trails committees.

Finally, you are told that the planting committee has exactly three members. This means that the planting committee is just K, J, and L. No one else can be on the planting committee given these rules.

The original rules tell you that M must be on at least one of the committees. Since the planting committee is closed, we know that M must be on the trails committee for this question. This is why (E) is the correct answer.

Hope this helps. Please let us know if you have any additional questions.