Linear Games Questions - - Question 8

If Norton is scheduled for the fifth performance, which one of the following could be true?

Kyra October 15, 2018

How can L be fourth?

How can L be fourth if the rules say, "Lalitha performs third only if Norton performs fifth." In this case, Norton was fifth. So, then Lalitha would have to be third according to the rules, right? Please advise.

Replies
Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Jesica January 5, 2019

I have the same question as the one asked above.

Ravi January 6, 2019

@Kyra and @Jesica,

Happy to help.

The rule you quoted, "Lalitha performs third only if Norton performs
fifth," translates to

L3 - ->N5

"Only if" introduces the necessary condition, so that's how we know
how to diagram this. We're told that Norton is 5th (N is in 5), so the
necessary condition for the rule is satisfied.

What happens when the necessary condition is satisfied? the rule no
longer matters. This means that L does not have to be in 3 in this
particular scenario. L can be in 4 since the necessary condition for
the rule has already been met.

Does this make sense? I highly recommend watching Mehran's video
lesson on sufficient and necessary conditions if you haven't already.
It sounds like you may not completely understand these concepts yet,
so that video lesson will be an excellent resource for you guys.

If you would like further clarification, don't hesitate to let me
know. We're here to help!