Which one of the following is an acceptable schedule for the evening's performers, from first through seventh?
ZachBJuly 6, 2019
December 1997 Linear Games Homework
For Question #8: How can you choose "C" when Looking at the contrapositive of rule 3? If L does L does not play third, then N does not play fifth. Doesn't that violate that rule?
Reply
Create a free account to read and
take part in forum discussions.
Thanks for the question! Let's take a look at rule 3. Rule 3 reads, "Lalitha performs third only if Norton performs fifth." We diagram "X only if Y" as X - >Y; in other words, only if introduces a necessary condition. So we diagram rule 3 as
Lalitha performs third - > Norton performs fifth
And so the contrapositive of rule 3 is
~Norton performs 5th - > ~Lalitha performs 3rd
And now we can see that there's no violation of the rule. Hope this helps!