If G and K are in group 3, which one of the following must be true?
michellesheinker@gmail.comJuly 16, 2020
T in group 1?
I understand that T can't be in groups 2 or 3, but does T NEED to be played? There are four adult options Q R S T and three groups so why couldn't we put any of those in group 1 instead? There are enough to play Q R and S and not T?
Reply
Create a free account to read and
take part in forum discussions.
Thanks for the question! Actually, yes, T does need to be played in group 1. So remember, take a look at the last rule. Neither H nor T can be in group 2. That means T has to be in group 1 or group 3.
OK, now take a look at rule 3. G can’t be in the same group as T. That means that if G is in the third canoe, then T is in the first canoe; conversely, if G is in the first canoe, T is in the third canoe. Now this question stem tells us that G (and K) are in the third group. Well, then it immediately follows that T must be in the first group! And that’s exactly what (E) tells us, so it’s the correct answer choice.
Hope this helps! Feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.