Group Games Questions - - Question 17

The hobbyist could select any of the following plant combinations EXCEPT

Branden September 29, 2020

Rule #1

Hello, I'm having a bit of trouble understanding why Rule #1 is written (Gf--> Hf and Yp) and not (Gf--> Hf or Yp). Since the rule states "... she can select neither H nor a Y," doesn't "nor" mean "or?"

Replies
Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Branden September 29, 2020

This was the reason I chose Answer Choice "C" and not "B."

shunhe October 1, 2020

Hi @Branden,

Thanks for the question! So let’s take a look at what Rule 1 says. It says that if she selects the G, she can select neither the H nor the Y. What does that mean? It means she doesn’t pick the H, and also, she doesn’t pick the Y. So she picks neither of the two, meaning she doesn’t pick both. For example, if someone asks you, “do you want apples or bananas?” and you say “neither,” that means you don’t want either. You don’t want apples AND you don’t want bananas. And that’s why we diagram this

G —> ~H & ~Y

Or, if you prefer to think about it this way, we do not select either H or Y, but that goes in parentheses, like so:

G —> ~(H v Y)

Hope this helps! Feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.

Branden October 2, 2020

Hi Shunhe,

Thank you! That helps a lot!