Linear Games Questions - - Question 8

If Norton is scheduled for the fifth performance, which one of the following could be true?

raheimer@liberty.edu January 13, 2021

Why is L not going third since Norton is going fifth?

Am I simply taking my necessary to conclude my sufficient? I don't understand why E cannot be possible.

Reply
Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

shunhe January 15, 2021

Hi @raheimer@liberty.edu,

Thanks for the question! You’re mixing up your necessary and sufficient clauses here. Remember, the third rule tells us that “L performs third ONLY IF N performs fifth.” X only if Y gets diagrammed

X —> Y

In other words, “only if” introduces the necessary, unlike “if,” which introduces the sufficient. So it should be diagrammed

L third —> N fifth

Which means that if N goes fifth, it doesn’t have to be true that L goes third. That’s a mistaken reversal.

Hope this helps! Feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.