Linear Games Questions - - Question 8

If Norton is scheduled for the fifth performance, which one of the following could be true?

raheimer@liberty.edu January 13, 2021

Why is L not going third since Norton is going fifth?

Am I simply taking my necessary to conclude my sufficient? I don't understand why E cannot be possible.

Replies
Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

shunhe January 15, 2021

Hi @raheimer@liberty.edu,

Thanks for the question! You’re mixing up your necessary and sufficient clauses here. Remember, the third rule tells us that “L performs third ONLY IF N performs fifth.” X only if Y gets diagrammed

X —> Y

In other words, “only if” introduces the necessary, unlike “if,” which introduces the sufficient. So it should be diagrammed

L third —> N fifth

Which means that if N goes fifth, it doesn’t have to be true that L goes third. That’s a mistaken reversal.

Hope this helps! Feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.

Sara February 25, 2021

So, "only if" is necessary? Necessary gives me the idea that it is required in which case L and N work in the reverse. There is something I'm not grasping.

Can you please explain this in a different way?