Group Games Questions - - Question 16

If the hobbyist selects a Y, which one of the following must be the group of fish she selects?

KatyMiller January 25, 2021

Why Not B?

I guessed correctly, but I am curious why it cannot be HJK?

Reply
Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

shunhe January 28, 2021

Hi @KatyMiller,

Thanks for the question! When Y is selected, J can’t be selected. Why? Because when Y is selected, we know we can’t pick G from the contrapositive of rule one. And that means there are four fish left to pick from. That means we have to pick X, since if we don’t pick X, we’d only have two fish remaining, and we need three. So if we pick Y, we have to pick X. That means we don’t pick W, which means we don’t pick J based on rule 3. So (B) is wrong because it has J with Y.

Hope this helps! Feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.