Linear Games Questions - - Question 17

If on a nine-bead strand the first and fourth beads from the clasp are purple, and the second and fifth beads are yel...

Jake June 7, 2016

Question 5, why can't 8th bead be Green

Ok I've gone over this and I can't seem to figure out how this can't be so, as in it looks like their are two possible correct answers On the 9 string bead PYRPYR _ _ _ O definitely can't be 7, but I was thinking that it could be YGO. Therefore bead 8 could be green. However, I just now looked at it more closely and see that any "string of 8 beads has to have at least on of the same. If I put Yellow at 7, or any other color besides O or G, then I break that rule. Being O cannot go next to R, it then has to be G. From there bead 9 "could be" absolutely anything except R as bead 8 has to be O. Well I answered my own question but I'm leaving this here if someone else struggles with the same question.

Replies
Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

brittneymfrey@gmail.com August 17, 2018

agree with below. I have YGO and don't see an issue.it doesn't violate the rules... PYRPYRYGO. includes all of them. I don't see anything wrong here. why is B incorrect? I see both E and B as correct. pls advise

Anita August 18, 2018

@Jake Great job, that's exactly what was happening here. We had to put G & O in 7/8 because any stretch of 8 beads has to include all of the colors, and if we put something like Y in one of those, we don't have room for both G & O in the first 8 - but O can't go next to R, so we end up with:
PYRPYRGO_ So 9 could absolutely be yellow.

oliveryyh December 19, 2018

I got B too, mine is PYRPYRGGO. According to the rule #2: Any pair of beads adjacent to each other that are the same color as each other must be green. GGO doesn't violate any of the rules, why is it incorrect?

oliveryyh December 19, 2018

oh, so every eight consecutive beads must include at least one bead of each color. So O has to go at 8. So GGO wouldn't work.

Ravi December 20, 2018

(B) doesn't work, as O must be in spot 8. O must be in spot 8 because rule number 4 states that within any sequence of 8 beads, there must be at least 1 bead of each color. The GGO sequence in 7, 8, and 9 violates rule 4, so this doesn't work. The only sequence of 7 and 8 that doesn't violate any of the rules is G in 7 and O in 8. Therefore, we can eliminate (A), (B), (C), and (D), leaving us with answer choice (E) as the only answer that could be true.

Hope this helps. Let us know if you have any other questions!

BradG April 5, 2019

AH, every 8 beads, not collectively in a set of 8 beads or more.