As it is presented in the passage, the approach to history taken by mainstream U.S. historians of the late nineteenth...

Katrina-Belmontes on December 19, 2018

Game 2 Question 4

Hi, I am a little confused as to why the answer to question four was C instead of B. Is it not safe for us to assume, due to the sufficient condition, that if Hall in 2nd then Jones should be 1st therefore leaving only Moss to be placed?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Ravi on December 20, 2018

Hi @Katrina-Belmontes,

Happy to help!

Both J and M can be in 4. Rule number 3 states that if J is in 1, H is in 2.

The stimulus says that H is in 2, so the necessary condition of the rule is satisfied. What happens when the necessary condition is satisfied? The rule goes away, so J is free to go in spots other than the first spot.

It sounds like you may have confused the meaning of this rule. The only two things we can conclude from rule 3 (if J is in 1, then H is in 2) are what the rule states and what the contrapositive of the rule is (if H is not in 2, then J is not in 1).

Since we know H is in 2, then it doesn't matter whether or not J is in 1, as the necessary condition of the rule has been satisfied. This is why answer (C) is correct, as both J and M can be in 4.

Hope this helps. Let us know if you have any other questions!

Katrina-Belmontes on December 21, 2018

Oh Okay. Thank you that makes sense.

Ravi on December 22, 2018

@Katrina-Belmontes, happy to help!