As it is presented in the passage, the approach to history taken by mainstream U.S. historians of the late nineteenth...

maritza on January 11, 2019

Game 2 question 4

Can someone explain why Jones could view the site on day 4? I thought that of Hall comes on day2 the Jones comes on day 1 ?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Ravi on January 11, 2019


Happy to help!

Both J and M can be in 4. Rule number 3 states that if J is in 1, H is in 2.

The stimulus says that H is in 2, so the necessary condition of the
rule is satisfied. What happens when the necessary condition is
satisfied? The rule goes away, so J is free to go in spots other than
the first spot.

It sounds like you may have confused the meaning of this rule. The
only two things we can conclude from rule 3 (if J is in 1, then H is
in 2) are what the rule states and what the contrapositive of the rule
is (if H is not in 2, then J is not in 1).

Since we know H is in 2, then it doesn't matter whether or not J is in
1, as the necessary condition of the rule has been satisfied. This is
why answer (C) is correct, as both J and M can be in 4.

Hope this helps. Let us know if you have any other questions!

maritza on January 14, 2019

Thank you, that clears up my confusion