Which one of the following partners cannot have the third highest salary?

Sonny on April 20, 2019


Why couldn't nassar be the answer too?


Richard on April 25, 2019

KLNIFMGJH is a possible ordering (assume everyone's salaries are different). The first rule says that K's salary is higher than Inman's and Lopez's, but it doesn't say that K > I > L, so L could be greater than I, and N – only bound by L's salary – could also be greater than I. This allows N to be third.

Ravi on April 25, 2019


Great question. Nassar isn't also the correct answer because he CAN go
into the 3rd spot. The only spots Nasser can't go in are 1 (because of
K) and 2 (because L must go before N). However, nothing is preventing
Nassar from going into 3.

Does this make sense? Let us know if you have any other questions!

on July 31, 2019

When you think of strategies for these type of questions is it important to also think of the Alphabetical order in terms of placement for each person. While also taking into consideration the salaries?

Ravi on July 31, 2019

Alphabetical order is not a factor, since the game provides us with the salary relationships between each partner. Don't worry about alphabetical order at all. Instead, focus your effort on the rules given in the game.

Ravi on July 31, 2019

Let us know if you have any other questions!

Kayla on May 17, 2020

I'm struggling with how to figure out question one. I got Nassar but apparently, it's not the right answer.