If Yoshida's speech is at 1 P.M., which one of the following could be true?

Ryan on May 6 at 09:07PM

This is impossible, or i’ve missed something?

In a time + grouping game of two groups neither x nor y can be before z, question 12 asks if Y speaks at the first time what can happen? — if Y speaks first, there is only one other person who can speak at the same time, thus either Y AND x will be before Z or at least X HAS to be if Z is the other first (one pm) speaker. So the game requires you to break a rule? What have i missed? Sent from my iPad

3 Replies

Ravi on May 7 at 08:57PM

@Deke,

Happy to help.

The question says, "If Yoshida’s speech is at 1 P.M., which one of the
following could be true?"

We have

G _ _ ...
R _ _ ...

We know Y is in 1, but we don't know if it's in G or R. Because of
rule 2, we know that neither X's speech nor Y's speech can be before
Z's speech. This means that Z has to go in the other 1 spot (whichever
one that Y isn't in) to make sure that it's not after X and/or Y.

G Y _ ...
R Z _ ... or

G Z _ ...
R Y _ ...

Now let's take a look at the answer choices.

(A) says, "Long’s speech is at 1 P.M. in the Gold Room."

We know (A) can't be true because Y and Z occupy the 1 spots on the
board, so (A) is out.

(B) says, "Long’s speech is at 2 P.M. in the Rose Room."

(B) can't be true because Y and Z are in the 1 spots and rule 1 tells
us that M has to go before L in the same room, so (B) can't happen.
It's out.

(C) says, "Molina’s speech is at 2 P.M. in the Gold Room."

(C) is totally possible.

G Y M L
R Z X

The above board satisfies all of the rules, showing that (C) is
something that could be true, so it's the correct answer.

(D) says, "Xiao’s speech is at 3 P.M. in the Gold Room."

(D) is out because either M or L would have to be at 2 p.m. in the
Gold Room, but then M and L wouldn't be together, violates rule 1.

(E) says, "Xiao’s speech is at 1 P.M. in the Rose Room."

We know (E) can't be true because Y and Z occupy the 1 spots on the
board, so (E) is out.

Does this make sense? Let us know if you have any other questions!

Ryan on May 8 at 11:33AM

Ugh, yep, stupid me...

Ravi on May 9 at 06:59PM

@Deke, not at all! It can be easy to forget about rules when there are so many of them. Keep up the hard work, and don't sweat this one!