If George presents only on jitsuaku, then which one of the following could be true?

Dustin on June 2 at 12:31AM

How is "D" right?

D is the best choice but it doesn't seem to workout. The stimulus requires a presentation on each subject. If Wendy presents on Shakespear's Villians but not on Machiavellianism, then there is no one who can present on Machiavellianism (M). If Rita presents on M, then Rita would present on Shakespear's Villains as well, because of Rule 3 (M -> S). However this would violate Rule 2 (WS -> not RS or RS -> not WS). Finally, John is restricted to only presenting on jitsuaku. What rules am I misinterpreting?

3 Replies

Ravi on June 2 at 05:45PM

@DDL,

(C) is actually the correct answer choice, not (D).

If you have any questions on (C), let us know, and we'll be happy to help.

Sidrah on August 28 at 06:47PM

How is C the correct answer?

Ravi on August 28 at 08:18PM

@Sidra,

Let's take a look at (C).

If G is only in the J group, then we just need to figure out what can
happen with R and W. Based on our first rule, R has to be in J. R and
W can't both be in M and they can't both be in S. However, at least
one person has to go in the M group and at least one has to go in the
S group. Thus, we can break this up into different scenarios based on
who can be in the M group.

For the first scenario, is R is in the M group, then W can't be. This
makes M done. Because R is in M, R would also be in S in this
scenario. S can't have W then, so S is done. This means that W has to
go in J.

For scenario 2, if W is in the M group, then R can't be, so M is done.
Because W is in M, then W would also be in S. S can't have R, so this
makes S done. This means that R has to go in J. W could also go into
J, but she doesn't have to.

Looking at (C), we see that it's possible for (C) to occur in scenario 1.

We could have R in M, J, and S, G in J only, and W in J only.

Does this make sense? Let us know if you have any other questions!