Which one of the following, if substituted for the condition that Hibiscus must be hung somewhere before Katydid but ...

Meredith on September 20, 2019

Why not E

Can someone please explain why E is incorrect? The video explanation stopped once it got to D. Thanks.

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Irina on September 20, 2019


The question asks us which of the following would have the same effect as the condition that H must be hung before K but cannot be the first.

For a substitution question, let's see what effect does the original condition have first.

The game requires us to determine the order of 7 photographs - F G H I K L M.
The following rules apply:

(1) G must be immediately before K

(2) H must be somewhere before K but cannot be first.
This rule tells us that the lowest placement for H could be #2 and in combination with rule (1), we can infer that the lowest placement for GK could be #3 and #4 respectively. The highest placement could be #5 because GK must come after it. So H could be in spots -#2, #3, #4 or #5.

(3) I & L must be next to each other:

(4) M must be #1,#2, #3
(5) F must be #1 or #7.

Let's look at (E):

K is somewhere after H, which must be somewhere after F.

The first part parallels the original rule but the second part is not the same because F could be #1 or #7, so this rule would, in fact, contradict the F- 1 v 7 rule because it is impossible for H to be after F if F is #7. Since this rule contradicts one of the other rules, we can conclude that (E) is incorrect.

Let me know if you have any further questions.