If Quigley is the only SoftCorp employee to attend Leadership, then which one of the following could be false?

Samir-Ghani on October 7, 2019

Question 4 on Game 3

I am not understanding the explanation behind this question, if we are in a 2-2-2-1-1 scenario, then why do we have 3 spots that have only 1 employee. Wouldn't we need another binary along with R under Information?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Irina on October 8, 2019


That's correct, three of the talks must have two employees. The question tells us that Q is the only employee to attend L, meaning we have four more talks - F G H I that are each attended not more than twice by Q R S T, thus we do have 2-2-2-1-1 scenario as you correctly identified.

If Q attends L, we can infer that R must attend F and I since R cannot attend G, H, or L per the rules.

If R attends F, we can infer that S must attend F as well per the rules.

Now, we know that Q attends the first talk that T attends per the rules and Q attends neither F nor H, we can infer that Q must attend G since Q&T must go together, and we only have one spot open in I.

Since S and T cannot attend the same talks, we can infer that one of them must attend H and one must attend I in either order. Thus, we can conclude that the only answer that could be false is (D) S could attend I instead, and T attend H in that scenario.

F: R S
G: Q T
H: /S/T
I: R /S/T
L: Q

Let me know if you have any further questions.