As it is presented in the passage, the approach to history taken by mainstream U.S. historians of the late nineteenth...

emmyland8 on October 18, 2019

Game 3, Question 3

My question is in regards to Game 3, Question 3. I do understand how we come to the conclusion that A, Must Be True, but I do not understand how C isn't a, Must Be True, as well. Given that it is a rule that was provided to us. Is it because the rule doesn't say If the mushrooms are added third, then the lentils MUST be added last? In which case, are there situations where the rules do not apply? Mehran explains the correct answer but doesn't elaborate on why the other answers are not true like he usually does.

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

SamA on October 18, 2019

Hello @emmyland8,

The rules given to us in the stimulus will apply to every single question. We cannot ignore them. The problem is that you have misinterpreted the rule, "If the mushrooms are added third, then the lentils are added last."
As diagrammed by Mehran: M3 - - - - - - - - >L6

We know from question 3 that lentils are placed 6th. However, this does not mean that mushrooms must be 3rd. It means that mushrooms could be 3rd, but not necessarily. You are not alone, mistaking sufficient conditions for necessary conditions is a common mistake. However, it is very important that you learn how to deal with them for all three sections of the test.

We cannot simply switch our conditions.
L6 - - - - - - - - - -> M3 is not valid. We cannot conclude this from our rules. It is not the same thing as the correct diagram above.
M is free to be placed in other spots, depending on its restrictions from the other rules. However, the rule in question does not restrict M to the 3rd spot.