Psychologists observing a shopping mall parking lot found that, on average, drivers spent 39 seconds leaving a parkin...

chidera on October 31, 2019

Question 7 Deductions

On Question 7 why is L not ruled out for slot 4 since we deducted M must be the fewest # of votes and that P, N, O all have fewer votes than L but neither can be the fewest which would create a conflict with slot 7? In that case shouldn't L have been eliminated in slot 4?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

SamA on November 1, 2019

Hello @chidera,

She did not include every elimination in that initial diagram. She only diagrammed what was inferred from her first glance at the rules. You are correct that L cannot be 4th, or 3rd for that matter, but we can't see every possible elimination at first. Only after we understood that M must be 7th could we limit where L can go. She may have just forgotten to cross out L, or found that it wasn't necessary. Once we see that L must be 1st or 2nd, that is easier to express than writing "not L" under all remaining spaces.

chidera on November 7, 2019

Understood makes perfect sense. Thanks for the explanation.