If Sonja performs first, which one of the following must be true?

Kath on November 6, 2019

Can S be the first?

In all my inferences, S cannot be the first one. Could you help me?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Irina on November 6, 2019


Generally if a question presents a hypothetical, it means that this hypothetical could be true - otherwise, one of the answer choices would have to say "no valid answer" -and I am not aware of any LSAT game that had this scenario.
The question asks us which of the following must be true if S is first. The rules tell us that S must perform earlier than T, and H must perform later than both T &S - in this scenario H cannot perform earlier than both of them since S is #1, H must perform earlier than R, resulting in the following order:

S > T > H > R

G is the only one remaining and the rules tell us that if G performs earlier than T, then R & S must perform earlier than T but that's impossible based on the inferences above T > H > R, thus we can conclude that G must perform later than T but we cannot determine its exact position in relation to H &R, so our order could be any of the following if S is first:

We can see that four of the answer choices could be true - G could be #3 and #4, H could be #3, and R could be #5, but T must always be #2 in all of three possible scenarios, thus we can conclude that (E) must be true.

Let me know if this makes sense and if you have any further questions.

Kate on July 9, 2020

How do the rules tell us that S must perform earlier than T? Isn't there a situation where T could be before S?

on April 5, 2022

^^ I'm confused on this too there isn't a rule that says S is before T, only if G is before T then R and S are before T

Emil-Kunkin on April 16, 2022

The third rule does actually say that S must be before T.