Free LSAT Practice
LSAT Practice Test
LSAT Practice Test Videos
eBook: The Road to 180
Law School Top 100
LSAT Test Proctor
LSAT Logic Games
Apple App Store
Digital LSAT Simulator
Fee Waiver Scholarship
LSAT Test Dates
LSAT Message Board
September 2016 LSAT
If Koguchi is assigned to area 2, then which one of the following could be true?
on December 14, 2019
Please explain why answer E is correct please?
on December 14, 2019
@sporzes thanks for your question.
Based on Rule 1, we know that M is in area 3. Based on this question, we know that we need to put K in area 2. This gives us:
Now, the game tells us that each area has at least on ranger, but Rule 2 tells us that neither O nor P can go in area 1. We already have M and K placed outside of area 1, so this only leaves J or L as options for area 1. However, Rule 3 says that L has to go with either K or M, which are both already placed outside of area 1. Therefore L cannot go in area 1, so J is the only option left to fill that spot. This gives us:
Rule 4 tells us that J and K must be placed together if O is in area 2 and that if J and K are not together, O cannot be in area 2. J and K are already placed and are not/cannot be together in the same area, so O cannot be in area two. Rule 2 says that O cannot be in area 1, so O must be assigned to area 3. This gives us:
Now, let's evaluate each answer choice.
(A) is incorrect because we have concluded that J must be in area 1.
(B) is incorrect for the same reason that (A) is.
(C) is incorrect because, even though we didn't place L in our scenario above, Rule 3 tells us that it has to go with either K or M. Since neither K nor M is in area 1, L cannot go in area 1.
(D) is incorrect because we have concluded that O must be in area 3.
This leaves us with (E), which could be true without violating the rules. This scenario would look like this:
Does that make sense? Please reach out with any other questions and best of luck with your studies!
Posting to the forum is only allowed for members with active accounts.