Get up to 25% Off or Free Tutoring with
LSAT Explanations App
Offie Hours Subscription
Invite a Friend
Fee Waiver Scholarship
LSAT Test Dates
Free LSAT Resources
LSAT Message Board
September 2016 LSAT
If exactly one ranger is assigned to area 1, then which one of the following must be true?
on December 17, 2019
Why is D correct? Why is B incorrect?
Create a free account to read and take part in
Already have an account?
on December 18, 2019
(D) is correct because if only one ranger is assigned to area one - then we know it must either be J or K. M, O, P cannot be assigned to area 1 per rules 1 and 2. L must be assigned to an area with another ranger thus he cannot be the lone ranger in area one either, which leaves us with J or K. Per rule 4, if O is assigned to area 2, then J and K are assigned to the same area, but these are the only two rangers either of which could go to area 1, so if there were to be assigned to the same area, there would be no one left to go to area one. Thus, we can conclude that O cannot be assigned to area 2 and O cannot be assigned to area 1 per rule rule 2, hence O must be assigned to the only remaining area - 3.
(B) is incorrect because even though it could be true, it is not the case that K must always be assigned to area 2 if there is only one ranger in area 1. In fact, K could be that ranger in area 1 instead.