If Scamp is not included in the display, which one of the following must be true?

Anna on February 25, 2020

Explain Answer

Can you please explain how the answer is C?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Shunhe on February 25, 2020

Hi @annaj,

Thanks for the question! Note first that if S is not displayed, there are three more puppies that can be picked. Now we can note that at most, 3 kittens can be used (because we can’t have G and H from the 3rd rule), so picking only 1 more puppy isn’t an option. If we pick the other three puppies, on the other hand, that means we’ve picked W, which means we have to pick G (4th rule), which means that G is in the 2nd pen, which means that T can’t be picked (since in this scenario, the 1st, 2nd, and 5th pens hold kittens from rule 1 and 4, and T can’t be next to a kitten from rule 2). In other words, we have to pick two puppies: R and T/W. But there’s no way to display just R and T, since if we just have those two, we have three cats, and once, again, T will have to be next to a cat. So we’re displaying R and W.

We know that W is displayed, and so G is in the second pen. This is what (C) tells us, and (C) is the correct answer.

Hope this helps! Feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.