If Hal is assigned to a booth with exactly one other employee, then which one of the following could be true?

Anna on March 3 at 04:35AM

Answer

Can you please explain the answer?

1 Reply

Ravi on March 3 at 06:16AM

@annaj,

Happy to help. Let's take a look.

We're told H is going with one other person in a scenario. Since we
know H can't go in O, then this means that H can either go with one
other person in R or V.

Looking at if H goes with one other person in R, this closes R out and
also closes V out since R has to have more people than V. However, we
also know that GM have to go in either R or V since G can't go in O,
so this means there's no room for GM in this scenario. Thus, we know
that this scenario won't work, and this means that H will have to go
with one other person in V. Also, since G, M, F, and K won't be going
into V, this means that L will be the one person going with H in V.

With H and L in V, GM goes into R. Since there are 6 people, two are
already in V, R has to have more people than V, and each booth has to
have at least one person, this means that R will have exactly 3 people
total. F and K are the only two pieces left, and no rules surround
them pertaining to going into O or R, so they can switch between these
two booths.

Lookin at (A), we know this is false since L is in V. (B) looks great
though and could definitely be true, since F could be in either O or
R. Thus, (B) is the correct answer choice.

Does this make sense? Let us know if you have any other questions!