Which one of the following could be an acceptable schedule for the team from June through October?

on June 24, 2020


Hi, I wanted to clarification on rule/condition number one. For number 13 the answer shows GHGfor JJA. so does that mean that as long there is one GHK or KHG , H can go in between same the mines. like KHK GHG. how can we infer that, I did not understand from rule 1.

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Skylar on June 25, 2020

@YulissaCardoza, happy to help!

Rule #1 states: "The team must work for at least one month at headquarters between any two months working at different mines."

There are only two mines- G and K. This rule means that these two different mines can never be placed consecutively. There must always be at least one H between G and K. In other words, we cannot switch mines without going through headquarters first. Our diagram will likely include something like GHK or KHG, or even GHHK or KHHG.

Note that this rule does not say anything about consecutive months spent in the same mine. For example, we could still have GG or KK. We could also still have GHG or KHK, but we aren't told that H has to separate months in the same mine like it does when we switch mines.

Does that make sense? Hope it helps! Please let us know if you have any other questions!

Skylar on June 25, 2020

@YulissaCardoza: To clarify, this explanation is based only off of what Rule #1 tells us. As we proceed further through the rules, we will be able to make more refined inferences. For example, Rule #2 will allow us to conclude that we cannot actually have HH, so GHHK and KHHG (as mentioned above) would be invalid possibilities.

on June 26, 2020

Yes, that makes sense. So if a rule doesn't state something that we cannot do , does that mean we can do it/ infer to do. For general purposes.

Ben on June 28, 2020

Hi Yulissa,

In general, if a rule doesn't state that something is prohibited, then it might be possible. However, it is also very possible that due to rule interactions and the way our setup interacts with our rules, it might not be possible to do something that the rules didn't expressly prohibit. What you should be looking is that the final setups you create don't violate any of the rules that were given.

I hope this helps. Please reach out if you have any other questions.