If Gambini is on the same team as Mitchum, and if Gambini prepares the final argument for that team, then which one o...

Zia on August 4, 2020


Can someone please explain the right answer?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Shunhe on August 5, 2020

Hi @zia305,

Thanks for the question! So let’s say that G and M are on the same team. And G prepares the final argument for that team. Well, what do we know from here?

Take a look at the third rule. Either G or R, but not both, prepares a final argument. Well, we know that G is preparing a final argument. So that means R can’t prepare a final argument, R prepares an opening argument! Since both can’t do it.

Now according to rule 2, L prepares an opening argument. So both R and L prepare opening arguments. That means they can’t be on the same team, since each team has one opening argument and one final argument. So GM is one team, and then R and L are on the other two teams, giving the opening statements. That leaves V and S left to give the last two closing statements. But they can be interchangeable. The question is asking us what could be true. Can (C) be true, that R is with S, who prepares the final argument? Yes, it can be. We could have

Opening: M R L
Closing: G S V

And that would be fine. So (C) can happen and is the correct answer choice.

Hope this helps! Feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.

Jayla on January 12, 2021

the wording of the answer choices were confusing for me. I got the same set up for the question, however, I read it as though the answer choice was saying R had to be final.