If there are red balls in boxes 2 and 3, then which one of the following could be true?

Avery-Lajeunesse on August 13, 2020

Correct Answer?

Maybe i've played too many logic games today but I cannot find the correct answer... If boxes 2 and 3 contain Red than green is required in 1 (rule #2). We would need another green to satisfy the WG block (rule #3) and one final red because we are in a 2 greens scenario. help?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

shunhe on August 14, 2020

Hi @Avery-Lajeunesse,

Thanks for the question! So you started off really well. If boxes 2 and 3 have R, then box 1 has to have G. And then you need a WG block somewhere. We don’t necessarily need another final red though just because we’re in a two greens scenario; remember, we need more reds than white, and so if we have one white and two reds, then we’re good on rule 1.

So now you should just think about where these things can go. You’ve already filled boxes 1, 2, and 3. So where can the WG block go? Well, either in boxes 4 and 5 respectively, or in boxes 5 and 6 respectively. And then the last box, either box 6 or box 4, can have a G or an R. And since box 4 can have a G, (C) could be true and is the correct answer.

Hope this helps! Feel free to ask any other questions that you might have.