If Richardson is on the same team as Veracruz, then for exactly how many of the students can it be determined which o...

Kyle on October 28 at 11:54PM

It should be 4

If you put down V or R, regardless of the position in which you place them, it requires that G is either the opening or the closing argument because of the rule which states that either G or R, but not both has to be the final argument. Thus if V is the opening and R is the closing, then the order of G and M is determined (G has to be the opening argument). If R is the opening and V is the closing, then the order of G and M is determined again (G now has to be the closing in order to satisfy the previously stated rule). Shouldn't the answer then be 4? Could you help me understand this?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Emil on October 30 at 07:00PM

Hi, we know that in this scenario the three groupings are RV, MG, and SL. However, we have no clue who opens or closes on the first two. All we know is that G and are are on opposite rows, they do not both close or both open. We do know that L opens, so s must close. So, we only know for sure about S and L.