Which one of the following partners cannot have the third highest salary?

Alex on July 22, 2015


Using the long chain when explaining Fox can be the third highest why count K, I then F (skipping L)and when explaining Iman why count K, L, then I and not K, then I?

Create a free account to read and take part in forum discussions.

Already have an account? log in

Naz on July 28, 2015

We know from the rules that "K" and "I" must be before "F," however, "L" has no set relationship with "F." Therefore, "L" can be before or after "F." To show that "F" can be third, we count "K," then "I," then "F."

Same goes for "I." The rules show that "K" must be before "I." "L" has no set relationship with "I," which is why there is no "arrow symbol" connecting them. So, "L" can be before "I" or after "I." Thus, to show that "I" is third, we count "K," then "L," and then "I."

I feel like you are having an issue understanding the relationship of variables in a long chain. I would recommend going over the Sequencing lecture one more time and noticing how and why we create the long chain.

Hope that clears things up! Please let us know if you have any other questions.

stormbeeler on August 30, 2015

I noticed myself overwhelmed with the rules after I wrote them down whild trying to make the larger sequence. In general, would you recommend filling out the larger sequence while going down the rule list or waiting until the end ? Thanks!

Naz on September 1, 2015

In general, I believe it is easier to create the larger chain as you go through the rules so that you do not overwhelm yourself. However, depending on the passage and order of the rules, sometimes this is not possible.

Make sure to slow down and take each game step by step.

Hope that helps!

moorejenn101 on October 6, 2017

I feel like i wrote out the long chain correctly but it may be confusing me with the word "cannot" throwing me off in the first question

slew on October 24, 2017

I am having trouble deciding how to start writing out the larger sequence, the part that you call the "key". Which rule should I start with to form the larger sequence?

slew on October 30, 2017

Anyone else having a hard time getting a response for your questions?

welchrina on April 15, 2019

Yes i can't see the correct answers at the end??

Ravi on April 16, 2019

@no name,

The word "cannot" in the first question means we're looking for which
of the game pieces CANNOT be in the 3rd slot.


In writing out the larger sequence, it doesn't matter too much which
rule you start out with because they will all ultimately form together
to form the larger sequence. Go with whichever rule you'd like to
start with first!

I personally just started with the first rule that was mentioned and
worked my way down the list. This ensures that I don't miss any rules
when diagramming.

Your board should look like this

K _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

K is in 1


Does this make sense? Let us know if you have any more questions!

Skylar on May 2, 2020

@welchrina, you should be able to see the correct answers both by clicking "Review" and by watching the video explanations. If this is not working for you, you may be experiencing technical issues. Please reach out to our support staff by tapping "support" from the left menu or by calling 855.483.7862 ext. 2 Monday-Friday 9am-6pm PT. Hope this helps!